Wednesday, June 27, 2012

So my friend just decided to buy me a bike from the thrift store and fix it up a bit for me. How sweet! He is the friend who was my brother's friend first? Yeah carrot top. That's him. He's going to college for being a mechanic or something along those lines so I'm not worried about the turnout. He even asked if I would rather  road or mountain bike lol. He said it was because he remembered my love language. For those of you that do not know what I am talking about by "love language"-
And here they are:

Words of Affirmation
Actions don’t always speak louder than words. If this is your love language, unsolicited compliments mean the world to you. Hearing the words, “I love you,” are important—hearing the reasons behind that love sends your spirits skyward. Insults can leave you shattered and are not easily forgotten.

Quality Time
In the vernacular of Quality Time, nothing says, “I love you,” like full, undivided attention. Being there for this type of person is critical, but really being there—with the TV off, fork and knife down, and all chores and tasks on standby—makes your significant other feel truly special and loved. Distractions, postponed dates, or the failure to listen can be especially hurtful.

Receiving Gifts
Don’t mistake this love language for materialism; the receiver of gifts thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift. If you speak this language, the perfect gift or gesture shows that you are known, you are cared for, and you are prized above whatever was sacrificed to bring the gift to you. A missed birthday, anniversary, or a hasty, thoughtless gift would be disastrous—so would the absence of everyday gestures.

Acts of Service
Can vacuuming the floors really be an expression of love? Absolutely! Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an “Acts of Service” person will speak volumes. The words he or she most want to hear: “Let me do that for you.” Laziness, broken commitments, and making more work for them tell speakers of this language their feelings don’t matter.

Physical Touch
This language isn’t all about the bedroom. A person whose primary language is Physical Touch is, not surprisingly, very touchy. Hugs, pats on the back, holding hands, and thoughtful touches on the arm, shoulder, or face—they can all be ways to show excitement, concern, care, and love. Physical presence and accessibility are crucial, while neglect or abuse can be unforgivable and destructive.

I am pretty fluent in all of these so to speak but when I took the text in the book, I found out mine are Receiving gifts, and Physical touch. My sisters make me drawings- the little toddlers and kindergartners, second grader sisters... and even if I can't figure out what the picture is I can't throw them away ever. x.x
At the bottom of the page from the link above^ there is a "take an assessment" option. Anyone who is interested I would love for you to take the test and comment what your language(s) is/are. Most people have just one, but I got exact equal scores in these two and the others were only 1 or 2 behind in scores.
These help with friendships, love life, family relationships... if you know someone's love language you can make them very happy. I don't know if it's just a mom thing, but my mom's love language is acts of service. She is very happy when people clean up or do things for her without being asked. :)
Try it!

No comments:

Post a Comment